What can you learn from a 9-year old?

Allow me to start this post with a confession – this idea isn’t mine.

Credit goes to one of my mentors, Pat Rigsby, for sharing this story and message with me.  I, in turn, felt it was worth sharing with all of you.

Let me start with a little background…

Back in May, a kid from Illinois named Ethan Lowder broke both his arms playing tag (next time he plays tag I don’t think scaling a fence will be a part of his strategy).  Even though Ethan is far from the first kid to break a bone, both arms at the same time?  That would be a struggle for anyone, and no one would have said boo had Ethan decided to put some activities on hold for a while and just park it on the sofa.

Ethan wasn’t having that, though.  You see, even though he’s only 9, he’s a competitive swimmer.  Those flippers are pretty important to his craft, but he didn’t let two broken arms stop him.  Three weeks after the accident he was able to talk his way into some waterproof casts.  It wasn’t too long before he was setting personal bests in the butterfly and the backstroke while winning events left and right.  After the newspaper story (I’ve posted a link at the bottom of this post), he even qualified for the Illinois State Swimming Championships in four events in his age group!

Cool story, but why am I telling you this?  Well, when was the last time you let something smaller than two broken arms put the kibosh (I must admit I’ve never had the opportunity to use kibosh in a written context… thank God for spell check!) on a fitness goal?

I see it far too often (heck, it’s happened to me before, so I’m not exempt from this lesson, either) – something minor or temporary causes someone to go completely off the rails.

Ethan realized that a couple casts didn’t mean he couldn’t accomplish what he wanted.  What’s do you need to overcome to get where you want to be?

Here’s a link to the story from his local paper in case you want to give it a quick read: http://tinyurl.com/lowder-2

‘Til next time!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

